Skip to content

You don’t have to be good at drawing to sketch out your future…

June 20, 2011

You don’t have to be good at drawing to sketch your future…

“If You Don’t Know Where You’re Going, Any Road Will Take You There” 

Andy Giddings 

In 1996 I took a course called at the time “The Pursuit of Excellence” it was a course designed for self-awareness, holding yourself accountable and thinking outside of the box.  I loved the course.  One of the things that we did was goal setting and visualizing what you want in the future.  We had to draw a PICTURE of what our life would look like 10 years from now… this is how my pictured looked if you can visualize this:

I drew a Very Simple picture of a home on the water, with hearts coming out of the chimney because our home was full of love, a dog, a child and trees all around us, with mountains in the back ground.   

When I met my husband years later, I told him to be prepared because my dream was to live on the water (at this time I never did tell him about my picture that I still had in my office)  We got married in September 2002, and for a wedding gift dear friends of ours took us on a weekend getaway on their boat, the meals were fantastic, the company great, and we docked in a bay overlooking these amazing homes with 50 feet of grass in front of them leading down to the water… this was to be where we bought a piece of property, and in 2006 we had a structure on that land on the water.  Exactly 10 years from when I drew that photo.  

Although the design of the house wasn’t exactly what I had imagined (we tried but the costs were going up and up with all my ideas) it is still MY DREAM, which I drew, wrote down, verbally told my husband about and it became a reality.  In 1996 I was FAR from affording a home on the water, in 2002 we were still far from affording a spot on the water… but I knew somehow it would happen.  We got the land for a real deal, I was let go from my company at the time with a package deal, and we put all of that money into building my dream,  I have never looked back.

What is your dream?  Where do you see yourself in 5 10 or 20 years?  Perhaps you should draw a picture and keep it close… you never know what may come because of putting pen to paper…

Be the Michelangelo of your life….

Believe in your dreams!

No comments yet

Leave a comment